top of page

In Praise of the Body

We often read stories about encounters with a ferocious, hidden enemy, a tumor that suddenly attacks our bodies, turns different organs into formless masses of cells, and subverts the rhythms of our lives. We become hostages to suffering and fear.

It’s cancer that extraneous presence disruptive to our present and to our future. We use poisons to eliminate it, calibrate radiations to avoid damaging healthy tissues, face mutilations. And it seems to us that the body has become one with the enemy. That is how the voices of many patients and journalists paint it, as a traitor that abandons us and turns against us, against our yearning for life and wholeness.

But our body suffers and fights against the enemy, it reacts as it can against it. To reject our body, to fail to acknowledge its patience in the struggle against any illness deprives us of an ally.

It is our body the steadiest presence in our lives. Always. In sickness and in health. The body is where pleasure and pain abide in such an intimate way that no one else can feel them as we do.

Above all, the body is memory, incomplete, idiosyncratic perhaps, but heavy as an anchor, even when our mind becomes rusty or is destroyed.

So, having gone through the experience of illness and physical pain like most of us, I wrote this:

You were born with me. You will be the only one who will be with me until the end. We learned everything together: the thunder and lightening of our first storm, the softness of our first shelter (arms? bed?), the fright of our first suffering (a fall? a look full of rage or hate?), the joy of moving on this earth made of stones, dust, and water.

How wonderful it was to discover this world together! Smells, flavors, sensations, visions, speech, writing, and pleasure. Pleasure felt so sweet, in all its forms. They tried to poison it for us even when it was innocent, especially when it was innocent.

They cursed you, tormented you, tortured you. They said that you are evil, that you are Evil itself. But you cannot be negated, no one can win against your patience. Even when you are negated you are present. The more they humiliate you and stifle your voice, the more you speak with your silence. I know what you want; I want it, too. If I pretend not to know, I betray you, I lie, and you know it and suffer.

Infinite suffering they have inflicted on you, small and great wounds. You know why they hate you. You are the memory of nothingness, of the nothingness you defeated and turned into passion for life. You move among a crowd of beings that are your kin, you are part of an ocean with a thousand waves, yet you are unique.

How could I imagine my existence without you? You live and I live. Even when you play with ambiguities you define me. You may be any color, any shape, and I am that color, that shape. I am your grasp on the world. They see you and I am you; I see and I am you. You are my magic philter, my borders, my desire for all that is outside me. How could I define the Other without you?

You work so well. You have given me all the tools I need to see, feel, and understand. Life is rich because of you. There is no empty moment in your growing. I know where you are at every instant; you are with me. You are my guide even when I refuse to listen to you.

I was told flattering and mortifying things about you. They have encouraged me to change you, confine and mutilate you. What a mistake to have seen you through other people’s eyes, critical eyes, egotistical eyes. If I did try once to mold you to please someone else, I would certainly not do that today. I have no illusions any more about who truly cares about me. You are my wonderful machine, a medium with a thousand resources.

I know. You can be a burden sometimes. You get tired, you get sick. But what intimacy is greater than ours? I know all your weaknesses, I know your courage. If you suffer, I am undone. If you lose your powers, if you can’t see, you can’t hear, you burn with fever, you collapse, I become nothing. Don’t frighten me. Remain faithful to me even in suffering, when I won’t be able to count on anyone else. Grow old well with me. I love you even when you are wrinkled, tired, slow. I do not despise you, as some do, if you have lost what others called beautiful, vivacious, attractive. We have traveled a very long way together. I congratulate you, I congratulate myself. I know my luck. You still give me joys among the many afflictions we share.

They have tried to separate us in the most cruel way: they promised me a life where you would not be. Those are empty promises, we know that. They cannot deceive us. We are one. Without you I do not exist; you cannot survive without me. You will go with me and I with you. Where, neither one of us knows. But you do not wonder what will be, and I thank you for this last support you give me in refusing all illusions.


Traduzione

Leggiamo spesso, in tutte le lingue del mondo, storie d’incontri con un nemico nascosto e feroce, il tumore, che attacca le più diverse parti del corpo, le rende masse informi di cellule e distorce il senso della vita ormai tutta presa dal dolore e dallo spavento. È il cancro quell’intruso che si manifesta inaspettato e multiforme e sconvolge presente e avvenire. Veleni dosati per eliminarlo, radiazioni calibrate per non danneggiare tessuti che vogliono continuare la vita sana di sempre, mutilazioni da affrontare. È allora che il corpo stesso sembra s’identifichi con il nemico e tante voci di malati e di giornalisti cosí lo dipingono, come un traditore che ci abbandona e infierisce contro di noi, contro la voglia di vita e di interezza che è noi.

Ma il corpo soffre e lotta contro il nemico, reagisce quanto può. Rifiutarlo, rifiutarne la sua pazienza nella prova del male ci priva di un alleato. È lui una delle cose più ferme della nostra esistenza, il luogo del piacere e del dolore intimamente nostri che nessun altro può sentire esattamente come noi li sentiamo. E soprattutto è il luogo della memoria. Incompleta forse, idiosincratica, ma pesante come un’ancora, sempre, anche quando la mente è arrugginita e distrutta.

Allora, essendo passata attraverso l’esperienza del dolore fisico, come tutti, scrissi questo



Elogio controcorrente

Sei nato con me. Sarai l’unico a rimanere con me sino alla fine. Abbiamo imparato tutto insieme: il tuono e il lampo del primo temporale, la dolcezza di un rifugio morbido (braccia? letto?), lo spavento del primo dolore (una caduta? uno sguardo di odio rabbioso?), la gioia di muoversi sulla terra di sassi, polvere e acqua.

Che meraviglia quando scoprivamo il mondo insieme! Sapori, odori, sensazioni, vedute, la parola, la scrittura, e il piacere. Ah! quanto ci è sembrato bello il piacere in ogni forma! Te lo hanno avvelenato anche quando era innocente, soprattutto quando era innocente. Ti hanno tormentato, maledetto, torturato. Hanno detto che sei il Male. Ma non ti si può negare, né vincere la tua pazienza. Anche negato tu sei presente, dici sempre quello che vuoi. Più ti si umilia e ti si forza a tacere, più tu parli nel silenzio. So cosa vuoi, lo voglio anch’io; e se faccio finta di non saperlo e ti tradisco, mento e tu sai e soffri.

Sofferenze infinite ti hanno inflitto, grandi e piccole, ma tu sai perché ti si odia. Tu sei la memoria del nulla, del nulla vinto e diventato passione di vivere. Ti muovi consapevole tra una folla che ti è affine, sei parte di un mare dalle mille onde, eppure sei unico.

Come potrei immaginare la mia esistenza senza di te? Tu vivi e io divento, mi definisco. Anche quando giuochi con le ambiguità, mi disegni; i tuoi colori, le tue forme possono essere tante, e io sono quel tuo colore, quella tua forma, quella tua presa sul mondo. Ti vedono e sono te; vedo e sono te. Sei il mio filtro magico, i miei confini e la fonte del mio desiderio di ciò che è altro da me. Come potrei definire l’Altro senza di te?

Come funzioni bene! Mi hai procurato ogni mezzo per vedere, sentire, capire. La vita è ricca grazie a te. Non c’è momento vuoto nel tuo crescere. So ad ogni istante dove sei; sei con me. Sei la mia guida anche quando non ti voglio ascoltare.

Mi hanno detto cose lusinghiere e cose mortificanti su di te, mi hanno incoraggiato a cambiarti, a comprimerti, a mutilarti. Che sciocchezza averti veduto con gli occhi altrui, occhi critici, occhi egoisti. Se un tempo ti ho modellato per piacere ad altri, non lo farei certo oggi; non m’illudo più su chi ha il mio interesse a cuore. Tu sei la mia macchina meravigliosa, strumento dalle mille risorse.

Lo so, sei un peso qualche volta. Ti stanchi, ti ammali. Ma quale intimità supera la nostra? So tutte le tue debolezze. So tutto il tuo coraggio. Se soffri, mi distruggi. Se perdi i tuoi poteri, se non vedi, non senti, ardi di febbre, ti disfai, non sono più niente. Non farmi paura. Rimanimi fedele anche nel soffrire, quando non potrò piú contare su alcun altro. Invecchia bene con me. Ti amo anche stanco, rugoso, lento. Non ti disprezzo, come tanti fanno, se hai perduto quello che altri dicevano bello, vivace, attraente. Abbiamo fatto un bel cammino insieme. Ti felicito, mi felicito. So la mia fortuna. Mi dai ancora tante gioie fra le pene che condividiamo.

Hanno tentato di dividerci nel modo più crudele. Mi hanno promesso un’altra vita dove tu non sarai. Ma sono promesse vuote, noi lo sappiamo, non c’ingannano. Siamo uno. Senza di te non sono più io; tu non puoi sopravvivermi. Te ne andrai con me e io con te. Dove, né tu né io sappiamo. Ma tu, fedele, non chiedi che cosa sarà. E io ti ringrazio per l’ultimo aiuto che mi offri nel rifiutare ogni illusione.


26 views1 comment
bottom of page